2013 Annual Awards Dinner and Conservation Fundraiser


The evening of Feb. 9 was a very special evening for all of those who attended the Annual Awards Dinner.  It was special because it was a time for Flycasters, their spouses and guests to enjoy good food and drink, socialize, hear an outstanding speech, award members for providing outstanding service to the club and win prizes in our large fundraiser.  All proceeds from the fundraiser went into the Marty Seldon Memorial Conservation Fund for fisheries conservation projects for those working to enhance or restore local waters and other fly fishing locations around the state.

Many eager guests arrived early to view the many silent auction and bucket raffle prizes as well as enjoy delicious appetizers from our caterer, Abby Huerta.  The demand for raffle tickets was high after guests viewed the many great bucket raffle prizes.  Our professional photographer, Ana Villafane, (www.anavillafanephotography.com) took advantage of the many great photo opportunities to document the fun occasion.  The energy and lively conversation in the room, augmented by Diana Ross’ “Year in Review” on the big screen, was a testament to the true party atmosphere in the beautiful Cupertino Room at the Quinlan Community Center.

After a brief welcome address by Chuck Hammerstad, Bob Meacham, our Master of Ceremonies, rang the dinner bell. Following the meal, our guest speaker, the Honorable Rod Diridon, told us about his experiences growing up in Dunsmuir fishing with his grandfather, then followed with a very informative presentation on the environmental and economic impact of High Speed Rail on a global level.

As is done at every Annual Dinner, Past President, Bob Laskodi awarded several members for their service to the club. Those receiving club awards were:  Lee Dorius, The Jim Thatcher Award; Judy and Shiz Nakawatase, The Harry D’Angelo Award; Dave Pellone, the Ken Eugene Award; Dave Turner, The Wading Staff Award; Diana Ross, Distinguished Service Award; Ken Imatani, The Houwink-Seldon Conservation Award; Wade Goertz, The President’s Award; Bob Bergthold, Member of the Year; Trent Jorgenson, The Broken Paddle Award; Bob Davis, Best Fly Tyer Contributor Award.  Those receiving fishing awards were: Ring of the Rise Award, Steve Duckett; Angler of the Year, Jim Isaacson.  To read more about the awards go to the club web site, www.flycasters.org and go to the “File Sharing” tab then chose “Broken Paddle and other club awards.”

Bob Meacham then announced the closing of the raffle and auction, so attendees hurried to increase their chances to win one or more of the great prizes.  Prize-winning numbers were displayed on the big screen and attendees scrambled to see if they had a winning ticket.   Thus ended another very enjoyable and successful event, which yielded an estimated net $12,000 to the Marty Seldon Memorial Conservation Fund!   Many thanks to all who participated!

Mike Culcasi and Chuck Hammerstad

Copyright © Flycasters, Inc. 2014. All Rights Reserved.