banquet small

Thanks to all of the Flycasters, spouses, family, and special guests for attending the 50th Anniversary Banquet and Conservation Fundraiser. It was very gratifying for the committee to have such a large group of 160 at the social event and to support our fundraiser for conservation. We hope you agree it was a special time to enjoy good food and drink, socialize, hear an outstanding speech, award members for providing outstanding service to the club, and win prizes in the large fundraiser. All proceeds from the fundraiser will go into the Marty Seldon Memorial Conservation Fund for fisheries conservation projects for those working to enhance or restore local waters and other fly fishing locations around the state.

And it was a good way to start the 50th year for members to continue to participate in all of the clubs activities including fishouts, rod building, casting classes, fly tying, and all of the other activities the club has to offer. And it was great to have a large group of new members at the event: August Abellar, Irene Bennitt, Matt Bien and Grace Lee, Ronald DuVal, Frank Eldredge, Jim Hofrichter, Kelly O’Hara, Robert Sass and Jack Wunder.

At about 6:30, Mike Culcasi, our Master of Ceremonies, started the evening with the serving of the delicious meal. Following the meal, our guest speaker, Phil Greenlee, entertained us with a talk on the great rivers of Northern California and the many fishing opportunities they have to offer followed by a short presentation on the 50 years of Flycasters by Chuck Hammerstad.


angler of the year


As is done at every annual banquet, the Awards Committee Chairman and 2015 President, Dave Pellone honored members for their service to the club with the presentation of the many awards. Those receiving club awards were: Dave Kerbyson, The Jim Thatcher Award; Chuck Hammerstad, The Harry D’Angelo Award; Bob Meacham, the Ken Eugene Award; Bob Shoberg along with the Tournament Casting Team, Distinguished Service Award; Bob Davis, The Houwink-Seldon Conservation Award; Bill Zuravleff, Member of the Year; Luke Sing, the Editors award; Walt McIntyre, The U. Shadsby Bulldrop Award (for his telling of tall tales);  Shiz and Judy Nakawatse, the Wading Staff award; Raphael Reza, Best Fly Tyer Contributor Award and Dave Pellone presented the Past President’s award to Bill Zuravleff. Those receiving fishing awards were: Tim Anderson, Ring of the Rise Award, Tim Anderson, Angler of the Year (see the above photo); and Terry Ward, the Broken Paddle Award. And last but not least, Wade Goertz was awarded Honorary Lifetime Membership, probably the highest award given to a Flycaster club member.

At the closing of the Bucket Raffles and Silent Auctions, there was more excitement from the winners as they picked up and paid for the prizes won. The Conservation Committee strived to accomplish two goals of making the event enjoyable for everyone and to raise some funds for the Flycasters fisheries conservation efforts.

Chuck Hammerstad

Conservation Committee Chairman

Copyright © Flycasters, Inc. 2014. All Rights Reserved.