Hi all,
Given the strength of the storms this last week, we will have to delay this fishout to the weekend of Apr 8-10. The storms have dumped 11ft of new snow on the sierra as well as several feet down to 3000ft level. Even with fair weather forecast for next week, there is little chance the road will open by Apr 1, and could take 2 or more weeks to open again.  Also, the new snow at 3000ft needs time to melt to clear the boat ramp and campgrounds. So I will again assess conditions by the end of next week, Fri Apr 1 to confirm.
The last weekend I can go is Apr 15-17, so we have 2 chances left to get there after which I will cancel the fishout.
The water level has started rising more rapidly now and is now at 65% of capacity and is at the bottom of the boat ramp. It is likely the water will be rise enough by the time we get there to launch boats from the ramp.  And we want to get there before the reservoir starts to spill so the afterbay is fishable, which may well happen by late April this year.
Keep in mind if we aren't getting in there, no one else is either, so the fish will wait. I have fished the reservoir through late April and have done well. In fact, given the higher water level this year, allowing the water a little more time to warm up is good for us. We want the water to start to warm up from the sun to bring the fish up from the cold depths to feed near the surface.
Lee

Anybody interested needs to get on my email list to know when we are going.

 Lee_Dorius

Lee Dorius


 

Fishouts

Wed Aug 23 @12:00AM
Klamath Lake Fishout
Thu Aug 24 @12:00AM
Klamath Lake Fishout
Fri Aug 25 @12:00AM
Klamath Lake Fishout
Sat Aug 26 @12:00AM
Klamath Lake Fishout
Thu Sep 07 @12:00AM
Medicine Lake Fishout
Fri Sep 08 @12:00AM
Medicine Lake Fishout
Sat Sep 09 @12:00AM
Medicine Lake Fishout
Sun Sep 10 @12:00AM
Medicine Lake Fishout
Thu Sep 14 @12:00AM
Roosevelt/Lane Lakes Backpack Fishout
Fri Sep 15 @12:00AM
Roosevelt/Lane Lakes Backpack Fishout

Fish Cards

Copyright © Flycasters, Inc. 2014. All Rights Reserved.